So That’s Where You Hide Your Gum

dentist-visit2.jpgWhile in Bolivia I tried to get a lot of things done. One of them is to have my annual check up with my dentist. She is Japanese and was raised in Santa Cruz, Bolivia where there is a huge population of Japanese professionals. I call her SuKey for short because I cannot pronounce her entire name. I made a call and got an appointment. After all the bowing and stuff when I first got there we talked about the girls a little and Cindy. I showed her their recent photo…she smiled and bowed at them. Then we got down to business and she took out an old filling and put in another. She cleaned and scraped and told me how nice my teeth were. After all the work was done she wrote all that she had done in my file and then quietly said…”160 Bolivianos.” I was outraged and then remembered that 160 bs is about 15 US dollars. I gladly gave it to her, took another photo, bowed some and told her that I would be back again. She bowed, I bowed again and the bowing and saying goodbye went on till I was dizzy and had to leave in order not to fall down! Aint God good?

Leave a comment